A Perfect Use for Misspellings…Surname Variations

Census Search

 

Hello, I am Kristine, a new blogger for the DMPL Local History Blog. I have an avid interest in local history and genealogy. I will be sharing information on the historical aspects of Des Moines as well as tips and tricks for genealogy research.

A Perfect Use for MisspellingsSurname Variations

On my great grandmothers’ Iowa marriage certificate to her second husband in 1922, it listed her mother as Margaret Bonlanken. I have never heard of that surname and it looked a little strange but I was glad to have something of substance.

Even a simple Google search of ‘Bonlanken’ warranted less than 20 results, so I figured the information was incorrectly transcribed but I had no idea what else it would be. It remained a brick wall for years.

I was recently researching a different surname of my family in the Schleswig-Holstein area of Germany. I stumbled across a website listing German Emigrants of the 19th Century (www.rootdigger.de). I searched each of the surnames of my German ancestors just to see if they might appear and sure enough the mystery was solved.

I located my great-great grandfather on the list, Friedrich Schimmer, it stated he emigrated in 1870 and was married to Margarethe von Lancken. Bonlanken – von Lancken. I was stunned, the name was so close and yet it never occurred to me to try an alternate spelling such as that.

I was able to fill in several generations of my tree based on that new information.

When searching for ancestors it can be helpful to search for alternate spellings of even common names. A very common name such as Schultz can have many alternate spellings including: Schultz, Schultze, Schulz, Scholz, Scholtz, Schults, Shults, Schulze, or Schultheis.

This is an excellent strategy when searching census records in our online resource, Heritage Quest. By searching alternate spellings of surnames you can broaden your possibilities of finding that ancestor you’ve been looking for.

German Genealogy Resources:

Palen, Margaret Krug. German Settlers of Iowa: Their Descendants and European Ancestors. Heritage Books, 2009.

Iowa Genealogical Society – German Group

One Response

  1. In looking for a car I was told by BillionAuto they have over 6200 vehicles to choose from. I completed the credit app online and was called by a salesmen AARON HAVILL who told me not to pick out a car until financing was complete. I was told to come in with proof of income and the financing would be complete. I was told I would not need a ride home and this man told my friend to leave me, that I would be leaving with my new car. After an hour and a half, I was shown the one car that he said I was approved to purchase. The one car was a Jeep with a very high price tag and every option possible. When I started to cry and told him I don’t want the car, he basically told me it was my only way home. He told me I could trade it in 6 months for a car I wanted. He watched me walk away on Hickman Road headed for the convenience store to call for a ride. Before I started walking I told him that he knew this all along and that he scammed me and i didn’t have anyone to come and get me in rush hour on Friday and he rudely said “I’m sure someone loves you enough to pick you up”. I have never been so mistreated. I learned since that this company has been shut down by the attorney general in other states and just moved to Iowa to scam people. He brought me there believing I could pick a vehicle. That was never the case. He had a huge gas hog he needed to get rid of and figured I would be desperate enough without a ride to buy it. The company brought him in from some other state and beware of him. Even worse, 5 other salesmen that he was talking to watched me walk away crying hysterical and not one offered me a ride. I am old enough to be their Mom and they should be ashamed. I could never work in a job where I have to scam people and outright lie to sell anything. Shame on them. Beware and avoid this place.

Leave a Reply

